When did the Dik-Pic replace courtship?

As published on www.mamamia.com.au 31st July 2012

When did I become the girl that men thought it was okay to send photos of their penis to?

Has classic courtship and wooing of a woman really fallen that far by the wayside? I mean, I realise that times have changed and sex is really just not a big deal but when did it become the accepted practice to send a girl a picture of your appendage instead of a bunch of flowers?

I was recently dating somebody that was an avid penis-photo-sender.  And there were a few times were I casually mentioned that these particular images weren’t really a turn on for me (I mean really what girl has ever said “Now that’s a handsome penis photo!”)

Over one particular weekend we thought we would grab dinner and a movie. As things had been going so well, I was pretty certain what would be happening after dinner and the movie, so like any good girl scout I indulged in some pre-sex grooming and purchased some sexy lingerie.

Around midday I received a text message from my date spelling out what his intentions were for the evening (subtle = not!) accompanied by a photograph of his, ahem, package. Instant turn-off.

I made up an excuse and cancelled. It was honestly the biggest mood-killer I could have encountered. What happened to spontaneity? What happened to flirting? And the biggest worry for me was – why did he think it was okay to send me this? What did that say about me or his opinion of me?

I have been sent photos like this by three separate men. Is it me or is it just part of dating these days?

It’s not as if we are involved in a long distance relationship and we have to utilise other methods to keep the spark alive (Skype-sex anyone?). He lives 15 minutes away. Stop taking photos with your phone, take a girl out for a nice meal and you may find you won’t have a need for these types of photos again! I was planning on sleeping with you stupid. Dump a bucket of cold water on my head why don’t you!

I haven’t written this guy off completely but he’s going to need some training when it comes to how I like to be wooed. Wooing does not include photographs of his anatomy. It does include thoughtful messages, asking how my day was, a nice dinner and pleasant conversation. Perhaps then it will be worth the effort to shave my legs and wear sexy knickers.

About yummymummydatingguide

I am mother, a dater, a shopper and a wannabe world-traveller (and full-time worker). I get equal pleasure from sharing a bag of sour worms with my son as I do getting dressed up for a night out or flying to a new destination.

One response to “When did the Dik-Pic replace courtship?

  1. John George Archer

    Sad that it has to be said at all really. On behalf of all my kind, sorry. Technology once meant that Men could get a man to land and walk on our nearest heavenly orb but now we use technology in a less edifying way. And it goes without saying, we don’t look at the Moon with a women in any whimsical contemplative way either.

Leave Your Comments Here