Can You Put A Price On Dignity?

There are many things you can lose in a break up. Some possessions, a beloved pet, money and not to mention your heart. But if I can stress anything to you, it is don’t, under any circumstances, lose yourself.

It has often taken many of us years to know who we really are and it can take just one shattering break up to completely lose that girl in one foul swoop. It was my own dance with dignity that prompted me to blog this particular subject, and in particular a little form of my own revenge. I decided to take a leaf from Emily Thorne and get a little of my own back after a broken heart and lots of lies. Without going into detail, it may have involved a little bit of email hacking and the spreading of a false STD rumour (I however felt I was performing a valuable community service informing selected women that had slept with my boyfriend that an STD check was warranted).

I will admit that initially I felt some vindication with my revenge and somehow I was able to justify my retribution to myself. But it only took a very short time for me to look at myself and think “what the hell?” Who was this person who had always held her head up high and could say with honesty that she was a good person? And ultimately what good came of my payback? We didn’t get back together, I didn’t get an apology and in all honesty I probably looked pathetic.

Pride and self-respect are two things, I believe, we cannot survive without. After two shattering heart breaks I learned, and the very hard way I might add, that no good can come from knowing. It is so impossibly hard to walk away from a relationship or be told an excuse for the break up to avoid the conversation. You can go searching for answers, dig up dirt or facebook stalk all you like – but trust me when I say that whatever it is you find will never give you the closure you are looking for. All it will give you is a whole pile of hurt.

So girls here’s my advice, instead of turning into a woman possessed, with detective skills worthy of an FBI Commendation, get off facebook, grab your closest girlfriends and hit the town. Show that man what hes really missing; and in the meantime your pride and self-respect wont go walkabout.

About yummymummydatingguide

I am mother, a dater, a shopper and a wannabe world-traveller (and full-time worker). I get equal pleasure from sharing a bag of sour worms with my son as I do getting dressed up for a night out or flying to a new destination.

Leave Your Comments Here