Commonsense … Making it Prevail

Common sense …. It’s a beautiful thing isn’t it? Defined as “exhibiting native good judgement”, common sense and love don’t often get put together in the same sentence. In reading this you may be already thinking “but this is just common sense.” Whether we are 17, 27 or 37, as soon as us girls fall in love, commonsense goes straight out the window along with our bad eating habits.

It is funny how the second a potential mate arrives on the scene, in whatever capacity; we have the ability to turn into deranged, AVO-worthy shadows of our former gorgeous selves. We vow that we are going to play it cool and wait for him to call. Before long we are checking our phone constantly to make sure we haven’t missed a call or text, spend all day on facebook making sure he hasn’t checked in anywhere before eventually concluding that he must have tried to call but the phone was in a “black spot” and didn’t have any reception. Now those with some self awareness are probably smirking to themselves or nodding along reading this, and those that aren’t, well ladies you need to have a little closer look!

As the writer of this post I don’t exclude myself from the failing commonsense category. And I think about all the times I did a little of my own facebook stalking while chatting to my friends in a whiney tone wanting to know why he hadn’t called me by a particular time and fully expecting my girlfriends to give me a valid rational answer.  I do ask myself the question, where was my commonsense? I am a grown, confident woman after all. But my commonsense was there, right along with the part of my brain that reminds me to wash my makeup off before I go to bed at night, and you know what, I ignore that from time to time too. When it comes to affairs of the heart, commonsense almost never prevails.

Love is wonderful, amazing, blissful, crazy, and at times, horrible ride. And it can knock our commonsense sideways … but in the end, the result of a loving relationship is worth it.

About yummymummydatingguide

I am mother, a dater, a shopper and a wannabe world-traveller (and full-time worker). I get equal pleasure from sharing a bag of sour worms with my son as I do getting dressed up for a night out or flying to a new destination.

Leave Your Comments Here